Five Student-Athletes Named to All-MAC Academic Team

July 8, 2014

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. -- Five student-athletes have been named to the All-MAC Academic Teams from the track and field program the league office announced Tuesday.

On the women's side, Bridget Doughty, Breanne Lesnar and Kelly Schubert earned spots on the All-MAC squad.

Doughty a Bay Village, Ohio native boasts a 3.8 GPA and is studying language arts. During her junior season she placed second in the 400m hurdles (58.89) and was a member of the 4x400m relay team, which placed fifth (3:43.48) at the 2014 MAC Outdoor Championships.

Lesnar reigns from Freeland, Mich. and carries a 3.95 GPA as a health education major. As a sophomore she finished third in the 5,000m run (16:51.42) and seventh in the 10,000m run (35:25.68) at the 2014 MAC Outdoor Championships.

Schubert a Freesoil, Mich. native is undecided in her major but holds a 3.90 GPA. As a redshirt freshman she placed fifth in the 10,000m run (35:21.56) and seventh in the 5,000m run (17:07.77) at this year's MAC Outdoor Championships.

On the men's team, Dylan Banagis and Kyle Smith earned All-MAC Academic honors.

Banagis reigns from Grand Rapids, Mich. and holds a 3.89 GPA as a entrepreneurship major. The redshirt freshman placed sixth in the discus throw (173-09) and eighth in the hammer throw (170-04) at this year's MAC Outdoor Championships.

Smith capped off his CMU track and field career with a seventeenth-place finish in the javelin with a mark of 211-06 at the NCAA Division I Outdoor Championships. The senior placed second in the javelin (215-04) at the MAC Outdoor Championships. The Leola, Pa. native boasted a 4.0 GPA and majored in engineering.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

CMU's Dylan Banagis, Doughty, Lesnar and Schubert all earned Academic All-MAC honors during the indoor season.

A combined 21 other student-athletes from the men and women's track and field program earned honorable mention.

Men's Outdoor Track & Field Academic All-Mac Team Alex McCune, Akron Kyle Cochrun, Akron Daryl Baptiste, Akron Bryan Jones, Akron Austin Price, Buffalo Jacob Sunday, Buffalo Dylan Banagis, Central Michigan Kyle Smith, Central Michigan Scott Bradley, Eastern Michigan Harry Dixon, Eastern Michigan Jeff Elam, Eastern Michigan Willy Fink, Eastern Michigan Grzegorz Kalinowski, Eastern Michigan Daryl Smith, Eastern Michigan Mason Waynes, Eastern Michigan Keither Williams, Eastern Michigan Miles Dunlap, Kent State Andrew Goodwin, Kent State Jesse Oxley, Kent State Wade Coffin, Miami Rob Stein, Miami Joe Stewart, Miami

Women's Outdoor Track & Field Academic All-MAC Team Claire Lucas, Akron Ariane Beaumont-Courteau, Akron Courtney Edon, Ball State Tina Perrine, Bowling Green Jeanette Pettigrew ,Bowling Green Brooke Pleger, Bowling Green Natalie Sommerville, Bowling Green Regine Lazard, Buffalo Kelly Truppo, Buffalo Bridget Doughty, Central Michigan Breanne Lesnar, Central Michigan Kelly Schubert, Central Michigan Victoria Voronko, Eastern Michigan Kate Wolanin, Eastern Michigan Aaliyah McKinney, Eastern Michigan Marina Manjon-Rivadulla, Eastern Michigan Dior Delophont, Kent State Roseanne Erickson, Kent State Paige Foster, Kent State Erica Hutson, Kent State Danniel Thomas, Kent State Anna Lamb, Miami Charlotte Myers, Miami Laura Bess, Miami Erica Howes, Miami Jess Hoover, Miami Rebecca Cronin, Northern Illinois Alex Schad, Northern Illinois Natalie Tarter, Northern Illinois Juliane Totzke, Northern Illinois Chanda Cuckler, Ohio Juli Accurso, Ohio Melissa Thompson, Ohio Mackenzie Chojnacky, Toledo Megan Gaysunas, Toledo Alexa Jarrett, Toledo Carly Molls, Toledo Liz Weiler, Toledo Andrea Arnold, Western Michigan Aisha Hodge, Western Michigan

Men's Honorable Mention Jake Hiltner, Akron Brian Crimmins, Buffalo Zach Ahart, Buffalo Brian Cummiskey, Buffalo Chris Reape, Buffalo Tyler Scheving, Buffalo Nate Ghena, Central Michigan Tyler Hamilton, Central Michigan Nathan Huff, Central Michigan Anderson Lee, Central Michigan Brandon McCleese, Central Michigan Brandon Piligan, Central Michigan Monte Scott, Central Michigan Casey Voisin, Central Michigan Shawn Welch, Central Michigan Solomon Ijah, Eastern Michigan Levi Selvig, Eastern Michigan Andrew Wentz, Eastern Michigan Tyler Jones, Kent State Justin Bailey, Kent State Marteze Roper, Kent State Zack McBride, Miami Adam Bodrick, Miami Robert Balzano, Miami

Women's Honorable Mention Hannah Ciasto-Poor, Ball State Michaela Hull, Ball State Haley Austin, Ball State Hannah Lange, Ball State Andrea Alt, Bowling Green Mackenzie McMillin, Bowling Green Becca Rae, Bowling Green Krystin Reiser, Bowling Green Taylor Bates, Buffalo Chrissy Clarkin, Buffalo Emma Siuciak, Buffalo Jenna Van Dusen, Buffalo Esther Bell, Central Michigan Michaela Bundy, Central Michigan Kylee Dobbelaere, Central Michigan Emma Fishnick, Central Michigan Diamond Hamilton, Central Michigan Megan Heffner, Central Michigan Halley Love, Central Michigan Kelly Morrissey, Central Michigan Krista Parks, Central Michigan Kelsey Ritter, Central Michigan Samantha Stein, Central Michigan Kyla Walworth, Central Michigan Ellie Braidic, Eastern Michigan Dannielle Clark, Eastern Michigan Kayla Pfund, Eastern Michigan Lydia Gomez-Diaz, Eastern Michigan Rebecca Quaintance, Eastern Michigan Adrienne Waisner, Eastern Michigan Hannah Fleck, Kent State Corrine Gasaway, Kent State Tabitha Jacofsky, Kent State Tori Meyer, Kent State Katie Reiser, Kent State Raquel Smiddy, Kent State Taylor Wickey, Kent State Melissa Girgis, Miami Jamie Burr, Northern Illinois Michaela Dwyer, Northern Illinois Erica Miller, Northern Illinois Ali Olson, Northern Illinois Leah Raffety, Northern Illinois Hannah Savage, Northern Illinois Kayla Scott, Ohio Olivia Vitou, Ohio Alexa Macri, Ohio Karissa Conrad, Ohio Allison Roeth, Ohio Tessa Weigand, Ohio Delaney Bolger, Ohio Lindsey Burdette, Toledo Deirdre Dwyer, Toledo

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps