Five Earn First Team All-MAC Honors

Dec. 3, 2014

By Andy Sneddon,

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. – Eight Central Michigan football players earned All-Mid-American Conference honors for the 2014 season.

Five Chippewas were selected to the first team, including wide receiver Titus Davis, who earned all-conference honors for the fourth time. Davis is just the third Chippewa to collect All-MAC accolades in each of his four seasons, joining Dan LeFevour and Bryan Anderson.

Other CMU student-athletes named to the first team were offensive linemen Nick Beamish and Andy Phillips, linebacker Justin Cherocci, and defensive lineman Leterrius Walton.

CMU, which is 7-5 overall and finished 5-3 in the MAC, had more first-teamers than any other school in the league.

CMU running back Thomas Rawls was named to the second team, while Chippewa defensive lineman Joe Ostman and defensive back Tony Annese were named to the third team.

Davis, a senior from Wheaton, Ill., led the Chippewas with 54 receptions for 843 yards and nine touchdowns despite missing three games because of injury.

He is CMU’s all-time leader in TD receptions with 33, and is the first player in Football Bowl Subdivision history to catch at least eight TD passes in each of his four collegiate seasons.

Davis was a first team all-league selection last season, a second team pick in 2012, and a third-teamer in 2011. He earned his second consecutive Herb Deromedi Most Valuable Player Award in 2014, and, also for the second straight year, was named to the Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List.

Phillips, a senior guard from Lansing, Mich., who was a second-team all-conference selection a year ago, has started 41 consecutive games and was named the Chippewas’ Offensive Upfront Player of the Year.

Beamish, a junior from Riverview, Mich., has made 37 consecutive starts at center.

Cherocci, a senior from Rochester Hills, Mich., led CMU and was fifth in the MAC with 107 tackles and he shared the team lead with four sacks and two forced fumbles. He was the team’s co-Defensive Player of the Year, and ranks eighth in program history with 389 tackles.

Walton, a senior from Clinton Township, Mich., established himself as a force on the defensive front, earning the team’s Defensive Upfront Player of the Year Award while making 30 tackles including two sacks.

Cherocci and Walton were two of the key cogs on a defense that ranked No. 1 in the MAC overall, against the run, and against the pass.

Rawls, a senior from Flint, Mich., who transferred to CMU from Michigan, shared the Chippewas’ Offensive Player of the Year Award after rushing for 1,103 yards and scoring 10 TDs on 210 carries. He finished fourth in the MAC in rushing yards per game and in all-purpose yards per game.

Ostman, a sophomore from St. Ignace, Mich., finished third on the team with 56 tackles including 10 tackles-for-loss, a total that ranked second on the team. He also had three sacks, forced two fumbles and recovered one.

Annese, a sophomore from Hartland, Mich., was CMU’s second-leading tackler with 65 stops and shared the team lead with three interceptions. He also led the Chippewas with 10 pass breakups, while making three tackles-for-loss and recovered a fumble.

The teams were selected by conference coaches.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps