Football Hands Out Postseason Awards

Nov. 23, 2014

From CMU Athletic Communications

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. - The Central Michigan football program recognized its annual award winners during its postseason awards banquet on Sunday.

For the second-straight season, senior Titus Davis was presented with the program's top on-field honor, the Herb Deromedi Most Valuable Player Award. Davis is a record-setting wide receiver for the Chippewas, as he has the most career receiving touchdowns (33) in CMU history. He is the team leader in TD catches this year with nine, making him the first player in NCAA FBS history with eight or more touchdown receptions in four season. Davis also has a team-best 54 receptions for 843 yards this year. He ranks second all-time in career receiving yards (3,563) and fourth in career receptions (198). Davis is the sixth CMU player to win team MVP honors twice in his career.

Kevin King earned the Kurt Dobronski Award, presented annually by the seniors to a classmate who demonstrates great effort, intensity and appreciation for the football program. The award's namesake, Kurt Dobronski, was a two-time All-MAC linebacker and four-year letterman from 1978-81. He died in the crash of Northwest Airlines Flight 255 in Detroit in 1987 at the age of 28.

King started all 12 games for CMU at safety, making 40 tackles and picking off two passes this season. The senior also had 1.5 tackles-for-a-loss and a forced fumble this year. For his career, King finished with 93 tackles, 2.0 sacks and two interceptions in 45 games. King was named CMU’s special teams player of the year for the 2013 season.

Senior running back Thomas Rawls and sophomore quarterback Cooper Rush shared CMU’s Offensive Player of the Year honors. Rawls was the team’s leading rusher, going for 1,103 yards on 210 carries and 10 touchdowns this season. Rawls had 270 yards against Northern Illinois, the sixth-highest single game total in CMU history. Rush started all 12 games under center for the Chippewas. He finished the regular season with 2,664 yards passing, 20 touchdowns and a competition percentage of 63.8 percent. He is tied for fourth in CMU history with 35 career passing touchdowns.

A pair of seniors, Justin Cherocci and Jason Wilson, were co-recipients of the Defensive Player of the Year award. Cherroci is a linebacker who has made a team-high 107 tackles this season and ranks eighth in program history with 389 stops. He also had 4.0 sacks and two forced fumbled this year. Wilson is a defensive back, tallying two interceptions and seven pass break-ups this season. He also made 49 tackles, second among CMU defensive backs.

A trio of CMU student-athletes received the Academic Excellence Award, Michael Kinville, Jarret Chapman and Cody Kater. Kinville graduated this past May with a degree in sport management and an undergrad GPA of 3.62. He is currently working toward his master's in sports administration. Chapman is a criminal justice major with a 3.23 and Kater is a physical education major with a 3.27 GPA.

Senior offensive lineman Kevin Henry earned the Gridiron Gladiator award, given to the player who best exemplifies great toughness and perseverance on the field and in the weight room. Henry started all 12 games this season at offensive tackles and has 29 career starts. He has started the past 24 games for CMU, the fifth-longest streak on the team.

Andy Phillips, a senior offensive guard, was named the team’s Offensive Upfront Player of the Year. Phillips has started a team-best 41-straight games for the Chippewas and earned second team All-MAC honors last season. Leterrius Walton, a senior defensive lineman, was the Defensive Upfront Player of the Year. Walton started all 12 games, tallying 30 tackles and 2.0 sacks.

Other award recipients included:
Special Teams Player of the Year: Ron Coluzzi
Offensive Rookie of the Year: Joe Bacci
Defensive Rookie of the Year: Josh Cox
Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Zach Oakley
Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Nate Brisson-Fast
Plas Presnell Team Humorist Award: Shafer Johnson
Diane Craven Unsung Hero Award: Cody Lopez, Dennis Nalor, Deon Butler and Courtney Williams

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps