Chippewas Announce 2014 Hall of Fame Class

July 30, 2014

By Andy Sneddon, -

Central Michigan University Marcy Weston Hall of Fame Page

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. - Six former Chippewa athletic greats will be inducted into the Central Michigan University Marcy Weston Hall of Fame on Friday, Oct. 17 during a ceremony in McGuirk Arena. The free event is open to the public and begins at 7 p.m.

The Class of 2014 is comprised of wrestler Gordan Cashen, gymnast Selina (Nickason) Mirjavadi, baseball player Clark Huntey, football player Scott Rehberg, softball player Brenda Schrader, and track and field coach Jim Knapp.

"I want to congratulate these six outstanding individuals on receiving one of the top honors available to a Central Michigan student-athlete," Director of Athletics Dave Heeke said. "Their hard work and dedication has set a great example for our current student-athletes and helped make this great department what it is today."

The six inductees will also be introduced during halftime of the Central Michigan-Ball State football game on Saturday, Oct. 18 at Kelly/Shorts Stadium.

• Cashen was a three-time national qualifier and an All-American in 1994. He twice earned the Chippewas' Most Valuable Wrestler award and finished with a 91-46 career record, including 13 pins. |complete bio|

• Huntey was a standout during a golden era of Central Michigan baseball, playing a key role on three consecutive Mid-American Conference championship teams in the late 1980s. As a senior in 1989, Huntey earned Third Team All-America honors and became the first Chippewa to be named the MAC Player of the Year. Huntey's 38 career home runs rank third on the school's all-time list, and his 23 homers in '89 are the second-highest single-season total in school history. |complete bio|

• Knapp led the CMU men's track and field program from 1985-2009, winning three Mid-American Conference outdoor championships and one MAC indoor title. He was named the MAC Coach of the Year eight times, coached 16 All-Americans, and his student-athletes won a combined 97 MAC championships during his tenure. Knapp was named in 2005 the Regional Indoor Coach of the Year and the District Outdoor Coach of the Year by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association. He oversaw the Chippewa cross country program that captured six league titles during his tenure. |complete bio|

• (Nickason) Mirjavadi was named the MAC Gymnast of the Year and the MAC Senior of the Year in 1998, becoming the first student-athlete in league history to capture both awards in the same season. Nickason was a three-time all-league selection, an NCAA regional qualifier in 1997, and won league titles on bars and on floor exercise during a standout career. When she left CMU, Nickason had recorded the best scores in school history in the all-around, the vault, the uneven bars, and the floor exercise. |complete bio|

• Rehberg was a three-year starter at left tackle, earning First Team All-MAC honors in 1996 and Second Team honors in '95. He was a key cog on the offensive line on the Chippewas' '94 MAC championship team, and he helped pave the way for three consecutive 1,000-yard rushers -- Brian Pruitt (1994) and Silas Massey ('95 and '96). Rehberg was selected by the New England Patriots in the seventh round of the 1997 NFL draft and spent seven years in professional football, making 27 starts and appearing in 79 games, with the Patriots, Cincinnati Bengals and Cleveland Browns. |complete bio|

• Schrader was a two-time All-MAC First Teamer and the league player of the year in 1994, when she led the Chippewas to the conference championship and a berth in the NCAA Regional. Schrader's .362 career batting average is tied for second-best in school history, and her 1994 totals remain on the school top 10 single-season lists for hits (70), batting average (.389), RBI (35) and triples (9). |complete bio|

The Class of 2014 is the 31st group of inductees, and it brings to 189 the number of hall members - athletes, coaches, administrators, contributors and championship teams. The inaugural class was inducted in 1984.

To be eligible for induction, the following must hold true for athletes: one becomes eligible 10 years after their final season; one must earn two letters in one sport or one or more in two sports; or brought recognition to the school by his or her athletic endeavors; and an outstanding career as an athlete must be continued in the individual's profession or occupation. 

For induction as faculty/staff: a person becomes eligible five years after leaving his or her coaching position or athletic-related administrative position.

Hall of Fame selections are made by the Marcy Weston Athletics Hall of Fame Board of Directors.

The hall is named in honor of Marcy Weston, Executive Associate Director of Athletics/Sport Administration who came to CMU in 1972 and has served the university athletic department in several capacities, including as a coach and an administrator, for more than 40 years.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps