Courtesy: Tim Fitzgerald/CMU Athletics
CMU linebacker Mike Petrucci awaits a snap during the Chippewas' home game against Ohio last November. Petrucci and classmates Brandon Fricke and Brian Bennyhoff were named to the National Football Foundation's Hampshire Honor Society on Wednesday.
Three Chippewas Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society
MOUNT PLEASANT - Three graduating members of the Central Michigan football program have been inducted into the National Football Foundation's Hampshire Honor Society.

Brian Bennyhoff, Brandon Fricke and Mike Petrucci, each of whom will earn his bachelor's degree from CMU this weekend, gained membership in the honorary by maintaining a 3.2 or better cumulative grade-point average throughout their undergraduate careers.

CMU's three honorees were tied for the most of any Mid-American Conference program. CMU has had at least one representative on each of the six Hampshire Honor Society classes and has had multiple honorees each of the past five seasons.

A total of 721 players from 232 schools nationwide qualified for membership in the society's sixth year, marking this year's class as the largest since the program's creation in 2007.

Bennyhoff entered the spring semester with a 3.97 grade-point average as an accounting major and will graduate with a bachelor of science in business administration degree. He was a four-year letterman as a long-snapper and was named to the 2011 Academic All-MAC team.

Fricke, a sport studies major, carried a 3.53 GPA into his final semester at CMU. He will graduate this weekend with a bachelor of applied arts degree. Fricke appeared in 12 games at CMU as a quarterback and long-snapper after transferring from Grossmont Community College.

Petrucci maintained a 3.71 GPA as a mathematics major and will earn a bachelor of science in education degree. A four-year letterman and 2011 co-captain, Petrucci was a two-time Academic All-MAC selection and the 2011 recipient of CMU's Kurt Dobronski Award.

CMU's Hampshire Honor Society Members
2007: Dan Bazuin
2008: Red Keith, Tony Mikulec, Eric Tunney
2009: Brian Brunner, Andrew Hartline
2010: Bryan Anderson, Eric Fraser, Dan LeFevour, Allen Ollenburger, Frank Zombo
2011: Matt Berning, Sean Murnane
2012: Brian Bennyhoff, Brandon Fricke, Mike Petrucci