Three Gymnasts Earn Academic All-MAC Honors
Courtesy: Tim Fitzgerald/CMU Athletics
Cheryl Conlin, Andrea de la Garza and Kristin Teubner have been named to the Academic All-MAC team.
MOUNT PLEASANT - Three members of the Central Michigan gymnastics team have been named to the Academic All-Mid-American Conference team.

Cheryl Conlin, Andrea de la Garza and Kristin Teubner were selected to the squad. This is the second time that de la Garza and Teubner have received this honor while it is the first time Conlin has been recognized. This is the second straight season that CMU has had three student-athletes named the Academic All-MAC team.

Conlin earned first team All-MAC honors after she tied for first place on floor with a career-high 9.875 at the MAC Championships. She tallied seven first-place finishes during the season with five coming on floor and had the MAC's top regional qualifying score on floor with a 9.850. The senior holds a 3.33 grade-point average while majoring in health fitness.

De la Garza tallied a pair of second place finishes at the MAC Championships to earn second team All-MAC honors. She was CMU's top scorer on bars (9.800), floor (9.800) and in the all-around (39.150) at the NCAA Regional Championships. The senior tallied 10 first place finishes and finished in the top three 34 times this season. She is majoring in health fitness and holds a 3.63 grade-point average.

Teubner was named the MAC Co-Gymnast of the Year, the third time a CMU gymnast has won this award. She won three events at the MAC Championships: beam (9.900), floor (9.875) and the all-around (39.325), and earned first team All-MAC honors. The junior holds a 3.7 grade-point average as a health fitness major.

Earning Academic All-MAC Honorable Mention honors was redshirt freshman Meaghan McWhorter who carries a 3.62 GPA as a political science major.

Central Michigan won both the MAC Championships and the conference regular season title. The Chippewas finished the season with an overall record of 23-6.

2010-11 Academic All-MAC Gymnastics Team
Nicole Allen, Ball State
Dawn Christman, Bowling Green
Cheryl Conlin, Central Michigan
Andrea de la Garza, Central Michigan
Kristin Teubner, Central Michigan
Nikole Viltz, Eastern Michigan
Lindsay Runyan, Kent State
Brianna Skiffington, Kent State
Lauren Wozniak, Kent State
Kristine Garbarino, Western Michigan
Stacy Kramer, Western Michigan
Caroline O'Brien, Western Michigan
Sarah Wright, Western Michigan

2010-11 Academic All-MAC Honorable Mention
Morgan Coslow, Ball State
Kayla Kmiecik, Ball State
Amber Brewer, Bowling Green
Monica Eaton, Bowling Green
Sunny Marchand, Bowling Green
Danielle Wishart, Bowling Green
Meaghan McWhorter, Central Michigan
Camille Cicchini, Eastern Michigan
Grace Crouch, Eastern Michigan
Kristina Kurkimilis, Eastern Michigan
Jessica Perdoch, Eastern Michigan
Sabrina Thomas, Eastern Michigan
Kristen Yourick, Eastern Michigan
Natalie Sutter, Northern Illinois
Shonda Clore, Northern Illinois
Tanya Rachan, Northern Illinois
Sarah Hurley, Northern Illinois
Jillian "Keiko" Tanaka, Northern Illinois
Jessica Watanabe, Northern Illinois
Lindsey Wienckowski, Western Michigan
Erin Doucey, Western Michigan
Brynn Wienckowski, Western Michigan
Cepeda Carter, Western Michigan