Courtesy: CMU Athletic Communications
CMU Soccer Releases 2013 Schedule

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. – Central Michigan soccer head coach Peter McGahey has announced the Chippewas’ schedule for the 2013 season. The schedule features eight home regular season games and match-ups with five teams, including four non-conference foes, which qualified for the 2012 NCAA postseason.

“The exciting, challenging, expectation-setting nature of our non-conference schedule will prepare us well for competition in the MAC,” said McGahey, who is entering his first season at the helm of the Chippewa program. “I look forward to getting started. We continue to set the bar very high at CMU and our 2013 schedule reflects that.”

McGahey will make his CMU head coaching debut on August 18 when the Chippewas host in-state rival Michigan State in a 5 p.m. exhibition contest.

The following weekend, Central will open the 2013 regular season in Mount Pleasant, as it welcomes Detroit to the CMU Soccer Complex for a 5 p.m. match on Sunday, Aug. 25.

The Chippewas will close out play in the month of August by making their first road trip of the season, visiting Morgantown, W.Va. for a 5 p.m. game versus West Virginia on Friday, Aug. 30. In 2012, the Mountaineers won the Big 12 title, going 7-0-1 in league play, in their first year of affiliation with the conference.

September will be a month of travel for CMU, as seven of its eight games will be played on the road.

After kicking off play on September 1 (12 p.m.) at Pittsburgh, the Chippewas will venture west to Portland, Ore. for matches against two 2012 NCAA qualifiers. Central will face WCC power Portland on September 6 (7 p.m. PT) and then Washington on September 8 (12 p.m. PT).

Next, Central will take on Big Ten opponents Ohio State and Indiana in Bloomington, Ind. The match-up with the Buckeyes is set for Friday, Sept. 13 (3:30 p.m.) and the contest versus the Hoosiers will take place on Sunday, Sept. 15 (3:30 p.m.).

Following a home contest with Dayton on September 20 (5 p.m.), the Chippewas will travel to the state of Ohio to begin MAC play. On September 27, CMU will meet Kent State in Kent at 4 p.m. and then, two days later, will battle Ohio in Athens at 1 p.m.

Early October will be crucial for CMU, as the month starts off with four consecutive home conference games. The Chippewas will clash with MAC foes Western Michigan (October 4, 4 p.m.), Eastern Michigan (October 6, 1 p.m.), Toledo (October 11, 4 pm.), and Northern Illinois (October 13, 1 p.m.) during the home stand.

Three straight road MAC games will then follow. CMU will face Akron on October 18 (7 p.m.), Buffalo on October 20 (12 p.m.), and 2012 MAC champion Miami (Ohio) on October 25 (3 p.m.).

The Chippewas will close out the regular season at home, meeting Ball State on Sunday, Oct. 27 (3 p.m.) and Bowling Green on Thursday, Oct. 31 (4 p.m.).

The 2013 MAC Tournament is scheduled for November 8 and 10 to be preceded by quarterfinal action on Sunday, Nov. 3.

Four starters return this season from a 2012 CMU team that won 15 games, including 10 in MAC play, placed first in the MAC West, advanced to the MAC Tournament championship game, and became the first program in conference history to earn an at-large berth to the NCAA postseason.

CENTRAL MICHIGAN SOCCER 2013 SCHEDULE

Sunday, Aug. 18       MICHIGAN STATE (exhib.)        5:00 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 25       DETROIT 5:00 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 30       at West Virginia 5:00 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 1       at Pittsburgh 12:00 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 6       at Portland 10:00 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 8       vs. Washington 3:00 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 13       vs. Ohio State 3:30 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 15       at Indiana 3:30 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 20       DAYTON 5:00 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 27       at Kent State* 4:00 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 29       at Ohio* 1:00 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 4       WESTERN MICHIGAN* 4:00 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 6       EASTERN MICHIGAN* 1:00 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 11       TOLEDO* 4:00 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 13       NORTHERN ILLINOIS* 1:00 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 18       at Akron* 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 20       at Buffalo* 12:00 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 25       at Miami (Ohio)* 3:00 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 27       BALL STATE* 3:00 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 31       BOWLING GREEN* 4:00 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 3       MAC Tournament Quarterfinals       TBA
Friday, Nov. 8       MAC Tournament Semifinals TBA
Sunday, Nov. 10       MAC Tournament Championship TBA

*Mid-American Conference games
ALL TIMES EASTERN

 

YoutubeEmailrssTwitterFacebookiTunes
advertisement