Courtesy: Tim Fitzgerald/CMU Athletics
Senior and captian Erin Dye led the Chippewas on and off the court this past season. Dye was recently named to the NFHCA DI Scholors of Distinction list.
NFHCA Honors Field Hockey for Classroom Achievements

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. - The Central Michigan field hockey team was honored by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) again this week. After earning the highest Division I grade point average in the country, the individuals who helped accomplish that were honored.

Twenty-one student-athletes were named to the NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad. Student-athletes must hold a 3.30 cumulative grade point average to make the squad. The Chippewas had the most athletes represented out of all Mid-American Conference schools, the closest being Miami with 13.

Two student-athletes were recognized for their extreme excellence in the classroom. Senior Erin Dye and freshman Taylor McKeon were named to the NFHCA DI Scholars of Distinction list. To receive this honor, student-athletes must hold a 3.90 cumulative grade point average. Dye, who holds a 3.92 GPA, and McKeon, who holds a 4.0, are two of only 81 athletes across the country to receive this recognition.

Division I National Academic Squad Members (*denotes 4-year winners)

Jordyn Brengosz

Brittany Burga

Erin Dye *

Erica Garwood

Alexis Gersbach

Emily Girasole *

Kaysie Gregory

Kianne Hinkle

Alicia Hutchison

Samantha Kuehnl

Simone Lazar

Julianna Makrinos

Elaine Materise

Bailey McKeon

Taylor McKeon

Anne Middeldorp

Anastasia Netto *

Ellen Riley

Maureen Riley

Olivia Shagam

Skylar VanNatta