1976 Field Hockey Team 1976 Field Hockey Team
Position: Hall of Fame Class of 2011
1976 Field Hockey Team Videos
1976 Field Hockey Team 1976 Field Hockey Team Bio
Courtesy: CMU Athletic Communications
Release: 08/23/2011

The winningest field hockey team in school history placed fifth nationally at the 1976 Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) National Field Hockey Championships ... finished the year 20-1-1 ... went 4-1 at nationals, losing to Virginia in the first round and defeating Southern Connecticut, 3-1, in the fifth-place match ... won state and regional championships for the second straight year ... CMU outscored its opponents 88-14 and recorded 12 shutouts ... the 20 victories still stand as a school record.

Head Coach: Mary Bottaro
Kathy (Adams) Farrell - Stanton, Mich.
Connie Anderson - Sparta, Mich.
Pam (Byron) Bisbee - Detroit, Mich.
Julie DeCaire - Ishpeming, Mich.
Kelly Gordon - Ann Arbor, Mich.
Diane Holmes -Onaway, Mich.
Karen (Karner) Michalak - Bay City, Mich.
Maureen McLaughlin - Dearborn, Mich.
Marilyn Misner - Auburn, Mich.
Jackie Neil - Stanton, Mich.
Donna Provenzola - Detroit, Mich.
Barb Putney - Benzonia, Mich.
Sue Roegner - Detroit, Mich.
Lu (Schaar) Kandt - Birmingham, Mich.
Jan Zygmontowicz - Detroit, Mich.
Athletic Trainer: Twilda Treadway-Dillmon