Courtesy: Tim Fitzgerald/CMU Athletics
Seven home events, including the Illinois-Michigan Challenge and a late-season showdown with Western Michigan, highlight the CMU's 2014 schedule.
CMU Gymnastics Announces 2014 Schedule

MOUNT PLEASANT - Seven home events, including the Illinois-Michigan Challenge and a late-season showdown with Western Michigan, highlight the Central Michigan gymnastics program's 2014 schedule.

The Chippewas open the season at home on Sunday, Jan. 5, hosting Wisconsin-Eau Claire at McGuirk Arena. Maryland (Jan. 10), William and Mary (Jan. 17) and Ball State (Jan. 26) also visit Mount Pleasant during the month of January.

"I am excited that we will be able to compete in front of our home fans seven times this season," head coach Jerry Reighard said.  "I feel we have one of the best home meet environments in our conference. I also think our schedule will do a great job preparing us for postseason action."

CMU will host the Illinois-Michigan Challenge on Feb. 1, a four-team meet that will feature the Chippewas, Eastern Michigan, Illinois State and Illinois-Chicago. CMU then visits Mid-American Conference opponents Eastern Michigan (Feb. 7) and Bowling Green (Feb. 9) before playing host to Kent State on Feb. 23.

Road trips to Illinois (Feb. 23), Northern Illinois (March 2) and Rutgers (March 8) lead up to a highly anticipated regular season finale against Western Michigan on March 15. The rivals finished tied for first with a score of 194.800 at the 2013 MAC Championships, marking the fourth straight year CMU won at least a share of the conference title.

Eastern Michigan hosts the 2014 MAC Championships on March 22. The NCAA Central Regional Championships are slated for April 5, with the national championship meet two weeks later.


Central Michigan Gymnastics 2014 Schedule

Sunday, Jan. 5: Wisconsin-Eau Claire, 1 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 10: Maryland, 7 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 17: William and Mary, 7 p.m.
Sunday, Jan. 26: Ball State*, 1 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 1: Illinois-Michigan Challenge, 2 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 7: at Eastern Michigan*, 7 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 9: at Bowling Green*, 2 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 16: Kent State*, 1 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 23: at Illinois
Sunday, March 2: at Northern Illinois*, 2 p.m.
Saturday, March 8: at Rutgers, 7 p.m.
Saturday, March 15: Western Michigan*, 2 p.m.
Saturday, March 22: MAC Championships (at Eastern Michigan), 2 p.m.
Saturday, April 5: NCAA Central Regional Championships, 6 p.m.
Thursday-Sunday, April 17-20: NCAA Championships, TBA

* Mid-American Conference meet
Home meets in bold
Times subject to change

YoutubeEmailrssTwitterFacebook
advertisement