Courtesy: Tim Fitzgerald/CMU Athletics
Chippewas Host Utah Valley, Travel to Ypsilanti for EMU Duals/Open

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. – The Central Michigan wrestling program will open its dual season Friday night when it hosts Utah Valley before traveling to Ypsilanti Saturday for the Eastern Michigan Duals/Open.

The Chippewas and Wolverines will be meeting for the first time in program history. The dual is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m.

CMU will battle Drexel (11:30 a.m.) and No. 6 Oregon State (1:30 p.m.) Saturday  as a part of the Eastern Michigan duals, while 16 wrestlers will compete in the Open Tournament.

Follow the Action
Fans can watch Friday night’s dual live through the CMU Sports Zone (Subscription required). Live stats will be available through and live updates will be tweeted from the Chippewas’ official Twitter account @CMUWrestling.

Horan Wins MSU Open
Sophomore 141-pounder Zach Horan, coming off a redshirt season, opened his season with five-straight victories last weekend at the MSU Open to claim the open division title. Horan moved up to the 141 weight class this season after claiming the Mid-American Conference title at 133 pounds his freshman season in 2011-12.

Ottinger Moves Up
Junior Mike Ottinger, a two-time MAC champ and NCAA qualifier at 165 pounds, made his debut at 174 pounds last weekend at the MSU Open, posting a 4-1 mark and a third-place finish. Ottinger earned his 50th career victory with a 5-4 decision over Navy’s Mathew Miller.

In the Rankings

Central Michigan

Utah Valley


Oregon State

133: Joe Roth, No. 14

125: Jade Rauser, No. 12

197: Brandon Palik, No. 12

149: Scott Sakaguchi, No. 1

141: Zach Horan, No. 16

Hwt: Adam Fager, No. 20


157: R.J. Pena, No. 5

174: Mike Ottinger, No. 15


197: Taylor Meeks, No. 1

Central Michigan vs. Utah Valley Projected Lineup
125: Corey Keener, RFr. (4-1) vs. No. 12 Jade Rauser, So. (0-0)
133: Tyler Keselring, Jr. (3-2) vs. Bracken Nipko, RFr. (2-2)
141: No. 16 Zach Horan, So. (5-0) vs. Avery Garner, Sr. (0-0)
149: Scott Mattingly, Sr. (5-2) vs. Trevor Wilson, So. (0-2)
157: Dakota Cooley, Jr. (0-2) vs. Chase Cuthbertson, So. (0-0)
165: Nick Becker, RFr. (2-2) vs. Curtis Abner Cook, Sr. (0-0)
174: No. 15 Mike Ottinger, Jr. (4-1) vs. Monte Schmalhaus, Sr. (0-0)
184: Craig Kelliher, Sr. (2-2) vs. Ethan Smith, Jr. (0-0)
197: Jackson Lewis, So. (3-2) vs. Derek Thomas, So. (2-2)
285: Mike Murray, Sr. (2-2) or Adam Robinson, So. (2-2) vs. No. 20 Adam Fager, Jr. (0-0)