Courtesy: Kyle Terwillegar/CMU Athletics
National-Level Competition Awaits XC at Roy Griak Invite

MOUNT PLEASANT - Following a bye week, the men's and women's cross country teams will travel to Minnesota for the Roy Griak Invitational, which will be loaded with top-level competition from around the country.

Held at the hilly Les Bolstad Golf Course in Minneapolis, Minn., the men's 8k race (1:20 p.m. EST) and the women's 6k race (2:10 p.m. EST) will be the most difficult for the Chippewas this season, and will be the first scored meet of the season. Team scores will be determined by the cumulative finishes of the top five runners, with the lowest score taking the team title.

Live coverage from FloTrack will be available here.

The women's field will feature 250 runners on 19 teams, while the men's race will have 170 runners and 15 teams.

In 2011, Lawi Lalang, the eventual NCAA individual champion from Arizona, won the men's race.

As teams with national championship qualification aspirations, the meet will be a measuring stick meet for both the men's and women's teams.

Sophomore Kyle Stacks enters as the top runner on the men's side after finishing ninth in 25:07 at the 8k Spartan Invitational two weekends ago, followed by senior Jason Drudge in 20th in 25:20 and senior Matt Lutzke in 53rd in 25:55.

Senior Nathan Sanchez; juniors Nathan Huff and Zach Tranter; sophomores Ethan Lievense, Ben Wynsma and Tanner Pesonen; redshirt freshmen Nate Ghena and Monte Scott; and freshman Spencer Nousain will also be key in competing for spots in the scoring lineup.

The men are ranked 11th in the USTFCCCA Great Lakes Region, and third among MAC teams behind Eastern Michigan (7) and Miami (OH) (10).

The women will be led by junior Krista Parks, who finished 22nd at the 6k Spartan Invitational in 21:55, and freshman Bailey Parmelee, who crossed the line 47th in 22:35 her first collegiate 6k.

Senior Charnele Lyons, who finished first-team All-MAC in 2011, will make her season debut.  She will compete for spots in the scoring lineup with seniors Maddie Ribant, Veronica Garcia and Jacquelyn McEnhill; junior Shelby Thren; sophomores Kelly Schubert and Katelyn Maylee; redshirt freshmen Alyssa Dyer, Kelly Schubert and Jacquee Overbeek; and freshman Brooke Morgan.

The women are 15th in the Great Lakes Region, and fifth in the MAC behind Toledo (4), Ohio (8), Miami (OH) (11), and Akron (14).

Men's Teams Women's Teams
Minnesota Minnesota
Central Michigan    Central Michigan   
Augustana (SD) Augustana (SD)
Boise State Baylor
Drake Boise State
Guelph Connecticut
Illinois State Drake
Iowa Guelph
Iowa State Illinois State
Regina Iowa
South Dakota Iowa State
South Dakota State    James Madison
Utah State Portland
Utah Valley South Dakota
Weber State South Dakota State   
  Utah State
  Utah Valley
  Weber State