CMU Leads After Day One at MAC Championships
Courtesy: Scott Rex/CMU Athletics
Senior 165-pounder Mike Miller will wrestle for his third career MAC title on Sunday.

Updated Brackets | Photos | MAC Championships Official Site

Watch: Borrelli interview

DeKALB, Ill. -
Central Michigan is atop the team standings following the first day of competition at the Mid-American Conference Wrestling Championships.

The Chippewas are in first place with 50 points, while Buffalo and Kent State are tied for second with 43.5 points.

Six Chippewas have advanced to the finals and will wrestle for individual conference championships on Sunday afternoon: Scotti Sentes (133 pounds), Scott Mattingly (141), Donnie Corby (149), Mike Miller (165), Ben Bennett (174) and Jarod Trice (285). CMU's six finalists are the most of any team in the tournament.

"For the most part, today was pretty good," said CMU head coach Tom Borrelli . "You always feel like you can do a little bit better, but I think our guys competed hard. We're happy that we put six guys through to the finals. That's probably more than we expected."

Sentes, who began the tournament with a 16-1 technical fall against Eastern Michigan's Filiberto Colon, earned his third consecutive trip to the finals by pinning Northern Illinois' Kevin Fanta in just 1:16 in the semifinals. Sentes will face Kent State's Tyler Small in the championship match on Sunday.

Mattingly took the mat immediately following Sentes and scored an 8-6 upset of No. 2 seed Tristen DeShazer (Northern Illinois). Mattingly, the No. 3 seed, took DeShazer to the mat in each period and led start to finish in earning a spot in the finals in his first appearance at the conference tournament.

Mattingly and Buffalo's Andrew Schutt will square off for the MAC title on Sunday.

In the semifinals at 149 pounds, Corby scored a pair of first-period takedowns and built a riding time advantage of 4:02 en route to an 8-2 decision over Ohio's Bradley Squire. Corby, who defeated Eastern Michigan's Corey Phillips in the first round, will face defending conference champion Desi Green (Buffalo) in the finals.

Miller will wrestle for his third career conference title on Sunday after earning a 6-1 decision over Northern Illinois' Matt Mougin in the semifinals. Miller, who won the 165-pound title in 2007 and the 174-pound title in 2009, will meet Buffalo's John-Martin Cannon in the championship match on Sunday.

Bennett advanced to the 174-pound finals with a 4-1 decision over Kent State's Brandonn Johnson. He will wrestle for his second straight MAC title against Ohio's Nick Purdue on Sunday.

Trice also claimed a 4-1 decision over Northern Illinois' Dakota Greenhaw in the heavyweight semifinals. Trice and Kent State's Brendan Barlow will meet for the conference title on Sunday.

Three other Chippewas remain in contention in the consolation bracket and will wrestle for third place on Sunday: Christian Cullinan (125), Ryan Cubberly (157) and Craig Kelliher (184).

The championship and consolation finals begin Sunday at noon Central Time.

Central Michigan Weight-by-Weight Results

125 Pounds: No. 3 Christian Cullinan
First Round: L, dec. Jared Germaine (Eastern Michigan), 6-5
Consolation Semifinals: W, dec. No. 4 Nick Smith (Northern Illinois), 9-6
Consolation Finals: Sean Walton (Buffalo)

133 Pounds: No. 1 Scotti Sentes
First Round: W, tech. fall Filiberto Colon (Eastern Michigan), 16-1 at 5:21
Semifinals: W, pin No. 4 Kevin Fanta (Northern Illinois) at 1:16
FInals: No. 3 Tyler Small (Kent State)

141 Pounds: No. 3 Scott Mattingly
First Round: W, maj. dec. Seth Schaner (Eastern Michigan), 14-2
Semifinals: W, dec. No. 2 Tristen DeShazer (Northern Illinois), 8-6
Finals: No. 1 Andrew Schutt (Buffalo)

149 Pounds: No. 2 Donnie Corby
First Round: W, dec. Corey Phillips (Eastern Michigan), 2-0
Semifinals: W, dec. No. 3 Bradley Squire (Ohio), 8-2
Finals: No. 1 Desi Green (Buffalo)

157 Pounds: No. 4 Ryan Cubberly
First Round: W, dec. Aaron Sulzer (Eastern Michigan), 4-2
Semifinals: L, dec. No. 1 Mark Lewandowski (Buffalo), 1-0
Consolation Semifinals: W, dec. Chris Kline (Ohio), 4-3 TB1
Consolation Finals: Aaron Sulzer (Eastern Michigan)

165 Pounds: No. 1 Mike Miller
First Round: Bye
Semifinals: W, dec. Matt Mougin (Northern Illinois), 6-1
Finals: No. 3 John-Martin Cannon (Buffalo)

174 Pounds: No. 2 Ben Bennett
First Round: Bye
Semifinals: W, dec. No. 3 Brandonn Johnson (Kent State), 4-1
Finals: No. 1 Nick Purdue (Ohio)

184 Pounds: Craig Kelliher
First Round: L, dec. No. 3 Jimmy Hamel (Buffalo), 3-2
Consolation Semifinals: W, dec. Khodar Hoballah (Eastern Michigan), 7-0
Consolation Finals: No. 3 Jimmy Hamel (Buffalo)

197 Pounds: No. 4 Chad Friend
First Round: W, dec. Mike Lukowski (Northern Illinois), 7-3
Semifinals: L, maj. dec. No. 1 Dustin Kilgore (Kent State), 22-9
Consolation Semifinals: L, dec. Brian Sheehan (Buffalo), 5-3

285 Pounds: No. 1 Jarod Trice
First Round: Bye
Semifinals: W, dec. Dakota Greenhaw (Northern Illinois), 4-1
Finals: No. 2 Brendan Barlow (Kent State)