Kevin Gamble
Position: Assistant Coach
Experience: 1 Year
Gamble Videos
Kevin Gamble Bio
Courtesy: CMU Athletic Communications
Release: 04/25/2012

A member of Keno Davis' staff for one year at Providence, Kevin Gamble was one of the first hires for Davis' inaugural Central Michigan staff.

Gamble, a 10-year NBA veteran, left an eight-year stint as a college head coach to spend the 2010-11 season as the Friars' coordinator of player development and video operations, heading up the program's academics, student-athlete development and video efforts.

A member of the 1986-87 Iowa team that won 30 games and advanced to the Elite 8 under Davis' father, Gamble was selected by the Portland Trailblazers in the third round of the 1987 NBA Draft. He played with the Boston Celtics from 1988-94 and finished his career with the Sacramento Kings in 1998.

Prior to joining the Friars, Gamble served as the first head coach at the University of Illinois-Springfield where he put together a 130-79 record and earned a pair of American Midwest Conference Coach of the Year honors.


The Gamble File

YearSchoolPositionOverall RecordConference Record

2002-03    University of Illinois-Springfield  Head Coach13-200-0

2003-04     University of Illinois-Springfield  Head Coach12-165-7

2004-05     University of Illinois-Springfield  Head Coach8-224-8

2005-06     University of Illinois-Springfield  Head Coach20-139-3

2006-07     University of Illinois-Springfield  Head Coach23-911-1

2007-08     University of Illinois-Springfield  Head Coach22-1011-3

2008-09     University of Illinois-Springfield  Head Coach21-811-4

2009-10     University of Illinois-Springfield  Head Coach11-13 7-11

2010-11     Providence College  Coordinator of Player Development and Video Operations

2011-12     Providence College  Coordinator of Player Development and Video Operations

2012-13     Central Michigan University         Assistant Coach 


Lincoln College (1983-1985)

University of Iowa (1985-1987)

Playing Career

Year    Team

1983     Lincoln College

1984     Lincoln College

1985     University of Iowa

1986     University of Iowa

1987-88           Portland

1988-89           Boston

1989-90           Boston

1990-91           Boston

1991-92           Boston

1992-93           Boston

1993-94           Boston

1994-95           Miami

1995-96           Miami

1995-96           Sacramento

1996-97           Sacramento